Dedicated locality research platform

What is MHADA?

One of the most basic necessities of life is a hygienic, safe place to live in, but with the exorbitant real estate prices in metropolitan cities, a lot of people come under the “low-income category” and are devoid of this necessity due to the inability to incur such expenses. Those who have a bit more money have to get into major financial debts with high-interest rates to afford an apartment from a private builder. Mortgage and repayment are also major problems that follow. 

To solve this problem, the Maharashtra Government came up with a lot of institutions like the Bombay Building Repairs and Reconstruction Board,  Maharashtra Slum Improvement Board, and Bombay Housing Board. To integrate the activities and functions performed by these statutory bodies, and to provide for a comprehensive and coordinated approach to the problem of housing, the Maharashtra Housing & Area Development Authority (MHADA) was launched. 

The Maharashtra Housing & Area Development Authority (MHADA) is a flagship housing scheme established under the Maharashtra Housing and Area Development Act, 1976. It came into exitance in the year 1977. It is a lottery system under which certain housing units are allotted in some specified areas each year, especially for the people who fall under lower and middle-income groups. Currently, it provides affordable housing options under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY).

As per a government resolution in 1992, MHADA was split into three boards: (i) Mumbai Building Repairs and Reconstruction Board, (ii) Mumbai Slum Improvement Board, and (iii) Mumbai Housing Area and Development Board. There are regional boards of the MHADA for the following cities and their jurisdiction areas as well:

1. Pune Housing and Area Development Board: Pune, Kolhapur, Solapur, Satara, and Sangli.

2. Aurangabad Housing and Area Development Board: Aurangabad, Jalna, Parbhani, Hingoli, Nanded, Latur, Beed, and Osmanabad districts.

3. Nashik Housing and Area Development Board: Nashik, Ahmednagar, Dhule, Nandurbar, and Jalgaon.

4. Nagpur Housing and Area Development Board: Nagpur city.

5. Amravati Housing and Area Development Board: Amravati, Akola, Yavatmal, Buldhana, and Washim districts.

6. Konkan Housing and Area Development Board: Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri, and Sindhudurg.

MHADA in Mumbai

The primary goal of MHADA is to provide affordable houses of quality and value to people of different income groups. Their vision is to be able to uplift the standard of living of the people and are committed to providing housing for all by 2022. Every year, the MHADA announces a housing lottery in different cities across the state, to allot new homes at affordable prices to eligible applicants. The housing lottery draw is held by the regional board. This system allows individuals living in Mumbai to afford residential properties in popular localities of Mumbai at a much lower cost compared to what private builders offer. So far, areas such as Borivali, Goregaon, Vikhroli, Mulund, Ghatkopar, and Mankhurd in Mumbai City have been included in the scheme. In the last seven decades, MHADA has provided affordable housing to nearly 7.50 lakh families across the state, of which 2.5 lakh alone are in Mumbai.

Prospective homebuyers can apply for a home loan provided their monthly income falls into one of the following brackets:

1. Low Income Group: INR 25,000 - 50,000/-

2. Middle Income Group: INR 50,000 - 75,000/-

3. High Income Group: More than IN 75,000/-


MHADA has fixed prices for houses based on the three income groups in the following manner:

1. Below 20 Lakhs - Reserved for EWS Applicants

2. 20 - 30 Lakhs – Reserved for Low Income Group Applicants

3. 35 - 60 Lakhs - Reserved for Middle Income Group Applicants

4. 60L - 5.8 Crores – Reserved for High Income Group Applicants


How can one apply for a MHADA scheme?

To apply for this scheme, one must be eligible according to the criteria mentioned in the Act. Some specifications are:

1. The applicant must be 18+ years of age

2. The applicant must have a domicile certificate that proves that he/she is a resident of Maharashtra

3. The applicant must have a PAN card

4. The applicant must be a salaried professional.

If you meet the above-mentioned criteria, you can follow the steps mentioned below:

1. Go to MHADA’s official website and register yourself to begin the application process.

2. After creating your account, choose between MHADA Mumbai scheme and MHADA Pune scheme. Then proceed to fill out the city form of your choice with all the information required.

3. As per your income group, choose the lottery and the scheme to participate in. 

4. After your application is done, save and store it for any future reference.

5. Pay the applicable fees by any of the available online payment methods.


MITRA: MHADA mobile app

In an attempt to digitize the whole process, MHADA came up with its own mobile application. Mobile users can now access all information through the MHADA app, MITRA. The app provides all citizen services. Following are the services available on E-MITRA:

Form 1: Tenement and plot transfer of tenancy.

Form 2: Commercial unit transfer of tenancy.

Form 3: No-dues certificate.

Form 4: No-objection certificate for a mortgage.

Form 5: Sale permission for the tenement and commercial tenement.

Form 6: Sale permission for the plot.

Form 7: BPP letter.

Form 8: HPS letter.

Form 9: Attested copy of the file.


“Views expressed are the views of Any action taken based on the views will be the responsibility of the user alone”


© All Rights Reserved.